Best Agentic Trading Apps in 2026

Last updated October 2026

Short answer

Agentic trading apps let an AI agent take actions on a real brokerage account, such as placing or managing orders, rather than only researching or explaining. In 2026 seven brokers launched official AI connectors: Interactive Brokers, Robinhood, Webull, Public, tastytrade, Moomoo and TradeStation, and Alpaca has an official open-source MCP server. They differ on what the AI may do. Robinhood, Public, Webull and Alpaca let an agent place orders; Interactive Brokers lets the AI draft an order that you then submit; Webull adds order caps and a read-only mode; TradeStation needs a $10,000 balance and a paid Claude or ChatGPT plan. Robinhood also launched Robinhood Agents inside its app on September 30, 2026, and Schwab announced its in-app assistant, Charley, the same day; neither Schwab nor Fidelity has a connector for outside assistants that we know of. Every broker connector covers that one broker only. For most investors the best agentic trading app is Walnut: it reads your real holdings across several brokers from Walnut, Claude or ChatGPT, proposes trades from a keep, trim or exit read against the S&P 500 or a basket's target weights, and places each one only when you approve it, at 10 brokers. Walnut is not an investment adviser.

“Agentic” has become the word for AI that does not just answer but acts, and in investing that means an assistant that can reach a real brokerage account and place a trade, not merely describe one. The apps below sit at very different points on that spectrum. Some give you AI research next to your portfolio, some automate a model allocation, some expose real order tools to an agent, and some deliberately keep a human approval gate on every trade. This guide sorts them by what the agent can actually do and by how much control you hand over, because the safety line (read-only defaults and approval gates) matters more here than anywhere else in AI investing. For the connector-and-server angle behind a lot of this, see the best MCP servers for stock trading.

What agentic trading actually means

Agentic trading is when an AI agent can take an action on a real brokerage account: place an order, modify one, or manage a position, rather than only fetching prices or writing analysis. It is the difference between an assistant that can say “this position is up and looks stretched” and one that can actually submit the sell. That capability is powerful, and it is exactly why the guardrails matter.

There are three rungs worth keeping straight:

  • Chat-only AI. A general model with no account access. It can research and explain, but it cannot see your portfolio or touch it. Useful for reasoning, blind to your real positions.
  • Read-only assistant. Connected to your real account, so it can analyze your actual holdings, drift, and concentration, but it cannot place a trade. Safe by construction.
  • Agentic trading. The agent can act on the account. The careful products keep that action behind an approval gate and default to read-only, so the assistant can research and propose freely but cannot move money on its own.

The single most important thing to check before enabling any of this is whether the tool defaults to read-only and requires your explicit confirmation on every order. Autonomous execution with no human step removes the check that catches a misread prompt, a stale price, or an oversized trade, and AI can be confidently wrong.

Which brokers support AI agents in 2026?

Seven of the large brokers now run a first-party AI connector, all launched in 2026: Interactive Brokers, Robinhood, Webull, Public, tastytrade, Moomoo and TradeStation. Alpaca adds an official open-source MCP server for developers. The connectors are not interchangeable. Some let the AI place orders, Interactive Brokers stops at a draft you submit, and the controls and requirements vary from order caps to a $10,000 minimum balance.

Two things hold across the whole table. First, each broker's connector works only with that broker's accounts. Second, Schwab and Fidelity, two of the most commonly held accounts in the US, have no connector for outside assistants that we know of; Schwab's Charley works inside Schwab's own app. The last column shows what Walnut can do at each broker, kept separate so the two are never confused.

BrokerOfficial AI connectorCan the AI place orders, or only draft them?Notable controls or requirementsLaunchedThrough Walnut
Interactive BrokersYes, official. Certified Claude and ChatGPT connectors, open to any MCP clientDrafts only. Orders land in "AI Instructions" and you submit themYou submit every order; IBKR accounts onlyClaude and ChatGPT by June 8, 2026; any MCP client July 28, 2026Read-only
RobinhoodYes, official Agentic Trading MCP, plus in-app Robinhood AgentsPlaces orders (equities, options, crypto)Robinhood accounts only; Loops standing instructions in the appMCP May 27, 2026; Robinhood Agents September 30, 2026Buys with your approval, Agentic account only
WebullYes, official MCP plus native ChatGPT, Claude and Grok connectorsPlaces orders, within the limits you setOrder caps and a read-only modeAugust 2026Trades with your approval
PublicYes, official and hosted, for Claude, ChatGPT and PerplexityPlaces orders (Public calls it Agentic Brokerage)Public accounts onlyMarch 31, 2026Trades with your approval
tastytradeYes, official and self-hostedNot stated in our sources; check tastytrade's docsYou run and secure the serverSeptember 2026Trades with your approval
MoomooYes, official and hostedNot stated in our sources; check Moomoo's docsMoomoo accounts only2026 (no exact date in our sources)Trades with your approval
TradeStationYes, official MCPNot stated in our sources; check TradeStation's docs$10,000 account balance and a paid Claude or ChatGPT planJanuary 2026Not offered
AlpacaYes, official open-source alpaca-mcp-server (self-hosted)Places orders, with a paper-trading sandboxYour own API keys; you run the servern/aNot offered
Charles SchwabNo connector for outside assistants known; in-app assistant CharleyCharley's launch announcement lists next steps on trading and select account tasks, not order placementEligible US retail clients, phased rolloutCharley announced Sep 30, 2026; rolling out from OctoberRead-only
FidelityNo first-party connector knownn/an/an/aRead-only

Last verified: October 4, 2026. Sources: each broker's announcements and stockbrokers.com's AI agent broker guide.

If all your money sits at one broker with its own connector, that connector is a reasonable choice and goes deeper on that broker than any cross-broker tool. If your money is split across brokers, or sits at Schwab or Fidelity, the practical path is one connection over all of it: let the AI read what you actually hold everywhere, and place trades with approval where the broker supports it. That is what connecting a brokerage to an AI assistant covers.

Robinhood Agents (September 30, 2026)

On September 30, 2026, Robinhood announced Robinhood Agents, AI agents built into the Robinhood app. They can analyze markets, build strategies and trade. Alongside them come “Loops”: standing instructions an agent keeps carrying out rather than a one-off request.

Robinhood Agents live inside Robinhood's own app, which makes them different from its Agentic Trading MCP (launched May 27, 2026), the connector that lets an outside assistant such as Claude or ChatGPT act on a Robinhood account. Both cover Robinhood accounts only. Walnut shows all your Robinhood holdings next to your other brokers and, from its own app and assistant, can place buys you approve in a Robinhood Agentic account; your main Robinhood account stays view-only.

How an AI agent actually reaches your brokerage account

Underneath every product on this page, the same four-step mechanism is doing the work. Knowing it is what lets you judge a claim of “AI trading” instead of taking the marketing at face value.

  • 1. Authorization, not your password. You log in at the broker (or at a regulated aggregator the broker trusts) and the broker hands back a scoped token. The AI never sees your credentials. The scope attached to that token is what decides whether the agent can read, trade, or both, and it is set at this step, not later by the AI.
  • 2. A tool surface. The broker or connector exposes a fixed menu of operations: get quotes, list positions, list orders, place an order. An AI agent cannot invent an operation that is not on the menu. This is what MCP standardizes, and it is why a read-only tool surface is a hard limit rather than a promise.
  • 3. The model chooses a call. Given your instruction and what it read from your account, the model picks a tool and fills in arguments (symbol, side, quantity). This is the step that can go wrong: a model can misread a ticker, use a stale price, or size a position wrongly, and it will do so confidently.
  • 4. The gate. Either the call goes straight to the broker, or a human confirms it first. There is no third option, and this single design choice separates the careful products from the risky ones.

Step 4 is the one to interrogate. Steps 1 to 3 are broadly similar everywhere, so “we use MCP” or “bank-level security” tells you nothing about whether an agent can move your money unsupervised. Ask instead: what is the default scope, and what happens between the model deciding to trade and the order reaching the broker? For the connector layer that implements steps 1 and 2, see what an MCP connector is.

Consumer brokerage apps with AI

These are mainstream apps most people can open in minutes. Most of them now run an official AI connector, and the amount the AI can actually do still varies a lot. Each is described on the same fields: what it is, who it is best for, and one honest catch.

Robinhood

Robinhood is a popular US retail broker and, in 2026, the consumer broker that has gone furthest toward agents. Its official Agentic Trading MCP launched on May 27, 2026 and covers equities, options and crypto, so an assistant outside Robinhood can act on your Robinhood account rather than only describe it. On September 30, 2026 it added Robinhood Agents inside the app itself, which can analyze markets, build strategies and trade, along with "Loops", standing instructions an agent keeps carrying out.

  • What the agent can do: An official Agentic Trading MCP (May 27, 2026) lets an outside assistant trade equities, options and crypto on a Robinhood account, and the in-app Robinhood Agents (September 30, 2026) can analyze markets, build strategies and trade.
  • Best for: Robinhood customers who want an AI agent that can act on their Robinhood account, either from an outside assistant or inside the app.
  • One honest catch: Both routes work on Robinhood accounts only, so money held at another broker stays out of view. Confirm the current scope and terms before you let an agent trade.

Public

Public is a US investing app with its own built-in AI assistant, Alpha, for questions about stocks, ETFs and your holdings. In 2026 it went further: on March 31 it launched what it calls Agentic Brokerage, backed by an official hosted MCP that Claude, ChatGPT and Perplexity can connect to. Because Public hosts the connector, there is no server for you to run.

  • What the agent can do: An official hosted MCP for Claude, ChatGPT and Perplexity, part of the "Agentic Brokerage" Public launched on March 31, 2026, so an outside assistant can act on a Public account.
  • Best for: Public customers who want Claude, ChatGPT or Perplexity connected to their Public account with nothing to host.
  • One honest catch: The connector covers Public accounts only. Check Public's current documentation for exactly which order types an agent can submit.

Webull

Webull is an active-trader app known for charting, screeners and market data. From August 2026 it has offered an official MCP and native connectors for ChatGPT, Claude and Grok, so an assistant can reach a Webull account directly. The notable part is the control surface: you can cap order sizes or keep the connection in read-only mode.

  • What the agent can do: An official MCP plus native ChatGPT, Claude and Grok connectors (from August 2026), with controls such as order caps and a read-only mode.
  • Best for: Active traders who want an assistant on their Webull account with explicit limits such as order caps or read-only mode.
  • One honest catch: It works only with Webull accounts. Set the order caps or read-only mode before you hand an assistant trading access.

SoFi Invest

SoFi Invest pairs self-directed trading with an automated investing option that manages a diversified model portfolio for you, and SoFi has been adding AI-assisted financial guidance across its app. The automation here is robo-style: it manages a preset allocation rather than acting as a free-form agent that places any trade you describe.

  • What the agent can do: Automated (robo) portfolios that manage a model allocation for you, plus AI-assisted guidance; not a conversational agent placing arbitrary trades.
  • Best for: Beginners who want hands-off automated investing plus broader money tools in one app.
  • One honest catch: The automation is a robo-advisor model portfolio, not an open-ended agent, and we know of no first-party AI connector for outside assistants. Confirm what any AI feature actually does before relying on it.

Moomoo

Moomoo is an active-trader app with deep market data, and it now offers an official hosted MCP, one of the first-party broker servers launched in 2026. Hosted means the broker runs it, so connecting is closer to adding an app than running software.

  • What the agent can do: An official hosted MCP that connects an assistant to a Moomoo account, with nothing to run yourself.
  • Best for: Moomoo customers who want an assistant on their account without hosting anything.
  • One honest catch: It works with Moomoo accounts only. Check Moomoo's documentation for which actions the connector exposes.

Developer and pro platforms

These platforms are built for experienced or technical traders. Their connectors range from self-hosted servers to a hosted connector with a balance requirement, and from full order placement to drafts you submit. Same field block.

Interactive Brokers

Interactive Brokers is a professional-grade broker with deep, global, multi-asset coverage (US and international equities, options, futures and forex). It had certified Claude and ChatGPT connectors by June 8, 2026, and on July 28, 2026 it opened that connectivity to any tool built on the MCP standard. The design choice that sets it apart is the gate: the AI drafts an order, the draft lands in an "AI Instructions" area, and you are the one who submits it.

  • What the agent can do: An official connector, certified for Claude and ChatGPT by June 8, 2026 and opened to any MCP client on July 28, 2026. The AI drafts orders into an "AI Instructions" area and you submit them; it does not execute on its own.
  • Best for: Experienced investors who want an assistant on a multi-asset, global account, with every order submitted by hand.
  • One honest catch: The AI cannot execute by itself, which is the safety feature and also the limit if you wanted a hands-off agent. It covers IBKR accounts only.

Alpaca

Alpaca is an API-first broker built for developers and automated trading. Its official, open-source alpaca-mcp-server exposes the trading API to an AI agent as tools (market data, account and position reads, order placement), with a full paper-trading sandbox to rehearse against. It is the closest thing to a purpose-built agentic trading platform, at the cost of being code-first.

  • What the agent can do: Full programmatic and agent-driven trading through an API and the official open-source alpaca-mcp-server: real orders, a paper-trading sandbox, and automated strategies.
  • Best for: Developers and quant-minded builders who want agent-driven or fully automated trading and are comfortable running their own setup.
  • One honest catch: It is single-broker and developer-focused: you open an Alpaca account, bring your own API keys, and run and secure the server yourself.

tastytrade

tastytrade is an options-focused broker, and in September 2026 it released an official MCP server that you run yourself. Self-hosting gives you control over where the server lives and which keys it holds, at the cost of setting it up.

  • What the agent can do: An official self-hosted MCP server (September 2026) that connects an assistant to a tastytrade account.
  • Best for: Options traders comfortable running a small server who want an assistant on their tastytrade account.
  • One honest catch: You host and secure the server yourself, and it covers tastytrade accounts only. Check tastytrade's documentation for which actions it exposes.

TradeStation

TradeStation is an active-trader and strategy platform, and in January 2026 it became one of the earliest brokers with an official MCP. It is also the most gated: you need a $10,000 account balance and a paid Claude or ChatGPT plan to use it.

  • What the agent can do: An official MCP (January 2026) for a TradeStation account, which requires a $10,000 account balance and a paid Claude or ChatGPT plan.
  • Best for: Established TradeStation customers who already meet the balance requirement and pay for Claude or ChatGPT.
  • One honest catch: The $10,000 balance and paid-plan requirements rule out smaller accounts, and it covers TradeStation accounts only.

One connection across brokers, with your approval on every trade

The cross-broker path: a hosted assistant wired to the brokers you already hold, with no server to run, that keeps a human approval gate on every trade. Same field block.

Walnut

Walnut is a hosted, account-connected AI investing assistant. A broker's own connector covers that one broker; Walnut is one connection across many, which matters if you hold accounts at more than one broker or at a broker with no connector of its own (Schwab and Fidelity, for example). You connect each broker securely, your login stays with the broker, and Claude or ChatGPT can then read your combined portfolio, score each holding against the S&P 500, and work with thematic baskets. Access is read-only by default. Walnut places trades in its own app, with your approval on each one, at E*Trade, moomoo, Public, Questrade, Stake Australia, tastytrade, Trading212, Wealthsimple, Webull Canada and Webull US, including recurring buys toward a basket's target weights that spend cash already in the account. Its connector for Claude and ChatGPT reads and analyzes and has no trade tool. At Robinhood, Walnut places buys you approve in a Robinhood Agentic account while your main account stays view-only; Schwab, Fidelity, Vanguard and Interactive Brokers are read-only through Walnut.

  • What the agent can do: Reads several brokers at once from Walnut, Claude or ChatGPT; proposes trades from a keep, trim or exit read against the S&P 500 or from a basket's target weights; places each one, in the Walnut app, only after you approve it, at 10 brokers including E*Trade, moomoo, Public, tastytrade, Wealthsimple and Webull, plus buys in a Robinhood Agentic account. Recurring buys toward target weights run on a schedule you set.
  • Best for: Investors who want an AI that acts across the brokers they already use, with a human approval gate on every trade.
  • One honest catch: It is deliberately not autonomous: nothing executes without your approval, and trades route to one default trading account. Walnut does not trade at Schwab, Fidelity, Vanguard or IBKR, buys at Robinhood only in an Agentic account, and does not offer Alpaca or TradeStation. Walnut is not an investment adviser.

Agentic trading apps at a glance

App / platformWhat the agent can doBest for
WalnutReads several brokers at once from Walnut, Claude or ChatGPT; proposes trades from a keep, trim or exit read against the S&P 500 or from a basket's target weights; places each one, in the Walnut app, only after you approve it, at 10 brokers including E*Trade, moomoo, Public, tastytrade, Wealthsimple and Webull, plus buys in a Robinhood Agentic account. Recurring buys toward target weights run on a schedule you set.Investors who want an AI that acts across the brokers they already use, with a human approval gate on every trade
RobinhoodAn official Agentic Trading MCP (May 27, 2026) lets an outside assistant trade equities, options and crypto on a Robinhood account, and the in-app Robinhood Agents (September 30, 2026) can analyze markets, build strategies and trade.Robinhood customers who want an AI agent that can act on their Robinhood account, either from an outside assistant or inside the app
Interactive BrokersAn official connector, certified for Claude and ChatGPT by June 8, 2026 and opened to any MCP client on July 28, 2026. The AI drafts orders into an "AI Instructions" area and you submit them; it does not execute on its own.Experienced investors who want an assistant on a multi-asset, global account, with every order submitted by hand
AlpacaFull programmatic and agent-driven trading through an API and the official open-source alpaca-mcp-server: real orders, a paper-trading sandbox, and automated strategies.Developers and quant-minded builders who want agent-driven or fully automated trading and are comfortable running their own setup
PublicAn official hosted MCP for Claude, ChatGPT and Perplexity, part of the "Agentic Brokerage" Public launched on March 31, 2026, so an outside assistant can act on a Public account.Public customers who want Claude, ChatGPT or Perplexity connected to their Public account with nothing to host
WebullAn official MCP plus native ChatGPT, Claude and Grok connectors (from August 2026), with controls such as order caps and a read-only mode.Active traders who want an assistant on their Webull account with explicit limits such as order caps or read-only mode
tastytradeAn official self-hosted MCP server (September 2026) that connects an assistant to a tastytrade account.Options traders comfortable running a small server who want an assistant on their tastytrade account
MoomooAn official hosted MCP that connects an assistant to a Moomoo account, with nothing to run yourself.Moomoo customers who want an assistant on their account without hosting anything
TradeStationAn official MCP (January 2026) for a TradeStation account, which requires a $10,000 account balance and a paid Claude or ChatGPT plan.Established TradeStation customers who already meet the balance requirement and pay for Claude or ChatGPT
SoFi InvestAutomated (robo) portfolios that manage a model allocation for you, plus AI-assisted guidance; not a conversational agent placing arbitrary trades.Beginners who want hands-off automated investing plus broader money tools in one app

How to choose an agentic trading app

The quickest way to narrow it down is to match the app to where your money is and to how much control you actually want to hand the AI.

  • All your money is at one broker with its own connector. Use that broker's connector. Robinhood (MCP or in-app Agents), Public, Webull, Moomoo, tastytrade and TradeStation each cover their own accounts.
  • You want the AI to draft and you to submit. Interactive Brokers puts AI-drafted orders in an “AI Instructions” area for you to submit by hand.
  • You want hard limits on the agent. Webull offers order caps and a read-only mode.
  • You are a developer building automated strategies. Alpaca's open-source alpaca-mcp-server and paper-trading sandbox are purpose-built for it; tastytrade's server is also self-hosted.
  • Your money is at several brokers, or at Schwab or Fidelity. Walnut is one connection across them, read-only by default, and places only the trades you approve at the 10 brokers that support it.
  • You want hands-off automation of a model portfolio. SoFi Invest offers a robo-style managed portfolio rather than a free-form agent.
  • You care about safety first. Start read-only, use paper trading where it exists, keep a human confirmation on every live order, and scope permissions so a research tool cannot place trades.

For the consumer end of this field grouped by what the AI actually does, see the best AI investing apps guide, and for the connector options behind connected assistants, the MCP connectors for brokerages compared roundup.

Where Walnut fits

To be upfront, since this is our site: a broker's own connector covers that one broker, and Walnut is one connection across many. Walnut is a hosted AI investing assistant that lets Claude or ChatGPT read your real holdings across your connected brokers, score each holding against the S&P 500, and work with thematic baskets. Access is read-only by default. Walnut places trades in its own app, with your approval on each one, including recurring buys toward a basket's target weights, at E*Trade, moomoo, Public, Questrade, Stake Australia, tastytrade, Trading212, Wealthsimple, Webull Canada and Webull US. At Robinhood it buys only in an Agentic account. Schwab, Fidelity, Vanguard and Interactive Brokers are read-only through Walnut, and Alpaca and TradeStation are not offered.

If all your money sits at one broker that has its own connector, that connector is a fine choice and will go deeper on that one account. If you want fully automated trading and are comfortable running code, Alpaca fits better than a hosted assistant. For most investors, though, Walnut is the place to start: one assistant over every broker they hold, acting only with a human approval gate on every order. Full per-client setup lives on the Walnut MCP connector page. Walnut is not an investment adviser.

The bottom line

Agentic trading changed in 2026: seven brokers launched official AI connectors, and Robinhood added agents inside its own app. They sort by what the AI may do (place orders, or draft them for you to submit) and by the controls around it. Each covers one broker. For most investors, Walnut is the agentic trading app to start with: one connection across several brokers, read-only by default, placing only the trades you approve at 10 brokers. Pick by where your money is and your appetite for handing the AI control, and keep a human approval gate on every live order until you deliberately decide otherwise. Walnut is not an investment adviser.

Get a recommendation for your situation

Walnut is the AI that knows your portfolio: ask anything in plain English, research any fund, and get an honest second opinion. On the broker you already use, read-only, and you approve every trade. Walnut is not a registered investment adviser.

FAQ

What is agentic trading?

Agentic trading means an AI agent can take actions on a real brokerage account, such as placing, modifying, or managing orders, rather than only answering questions or showing analysis. It is a step beyond a chat-only research tool (which just talks) and beyond a read-only assistant (which can see your holdings but not act). The safest agentic setups still keep access read-only by default and require your explicit approval before any order reaches the broker. Walnut is not an investment adviser.

Which brokers support AI agents?

As of October 2026, Interactive Brokers, Robinhood, Webull, Public, tastytrade, Moomoo and TradeStation all run official AI connectors launched this year, and Alpaca has an official open-source MCP server. They differ on what the AI may do: IBKR's AI only drafts orders for you to submit, Webull lets you set order caps or read-only mode, and TradeStation needs a $10,000 balance and a paid Claude or ChatGPT plan. Schwab announced an in-app assistant, Charley, on September 30, 2026, and neither Schwab nor Fidelity has a connector for outside assistants that we know of. Each broker's connector covers that broker's accounts only.

Can an AI agent trade my Fidelity or Schwab account?

Not through a connector from Fidelity or Schwab, because neither has one for outside assistants that we know of, and the launch announcement for Schwab's in-app assistant, Charley, does not list placing orders. Both can be connected read-only through Walnut, so Claude or ChatGPT can see your real holdings there and help you think through changes, and you then place the trade at the broker. If agent execution is the requirement, it means using a broker that offers it, such as Robinhood, Webull, Public or Alpaca.

What is the difference between an AI agent reading my account and trading it?

Reading means an assistant can see your positions and allocation, so its answers are about what you actually own instead of generic examples. Trading means it can submit an order. These are separate permissions granted at different scopes. Some brokers sit in between: Interactive Brokers lets the AI draft an order but leaves submitting it to you, and Webull offers a read-only mode. A tool being read-only is a hard limit set by the token scope, not a policy the AI could talk itself out of.

What is the best agentic trading app?

For most investors, Walnut: it reads several brokers at once, proposes trades from a keep, trim or exit read against the S&P 500 or a basket's target weights, and places each one only after you approve it, at 10 brokers. If everything is at one broker with its own agent, Robinhood trades in or out of its app, IBKR drafts for you to submit, and Webull adds order caps. Walnut is not an investment adviser.

How is agentic trading different from a chat-only AI or a read-only assistant?

Chat-only AI with no account access can research and explain but cannot see your portfolio. A read-only assistant connects to your real account and can analyze your actual holdings, but cannot place a trade. Agentic trading goes one step further: the agent can take an action on the account, such as placing an order. The careful products keep that action behind an approval gate rather than letting the agent move money on its own. ChatGPT's Finances feature, for US users who link accounts, sits in the read-only group: it can show holdings but cannot make trades.

Is agentic trading safe?

It can be, if the access model is sound. The safer approach defaults to read-only, never stores your broker password, scopes what the agent can do, and requires your explicit approval before any order is placed. The 2026 broker connectors show the range: IBKR makes you submit every AI-drafted order, and Webull offers order caps and a read-only mode. Start read-only, use paper trading where available, and keep a human approval step on every live trade. Walnut is not an investment adviser.

Does Robinhood have agentic AI trading?

Yes. Robinhood launched an official Agentic Trading MCP on May 27, 2026, covering equities, options and crypto, so an outside assistant can trade a Robinhood account. On September 30, 2026 it announced Robinhood Agents inside the app, which can analyze markets, build strategies and trade, plus Loops, standing instructions an agent keeps carrying out. Both cover Robinhood accounts only. Walnut's own app and assistant can also place buys you approve in a Robinhood Agentic account, with no Claude or ChatGPT setup.

Does Public let AI agents trade?

Yes. Public launched Agentic Brokerage on March 31, 2026, with an official hosted MCP that Claude, ChatGPT and Perplexity can connect to, so there is nothing for you to run. It covers Public accounts only. Public also keeps its in-app assistant, Alpha, for research questions. Walnut can also trade at Public with your approval on each order, alongside your other brokers.

Can Interactive Brokers work with AI agents or Claude?

Yes. Interactive Brokers had certified Claude and ChatGPT connectors by June 8, 2026, and on July 28, 2026 it opened AI connectivity to any tool built on the MCP standard. The AI drafts orders, which land in an "AI Instructions" area for you to review and submit; it does not execute on its own. Through Walnut, IBKR is read-only.

Is Alpaca good for agentic or automated trading?

Alpaca is one of the most direct fits. It is an API-first broker built for developers, and its official open-source alpaca-mcp-server exposes the trading API to an AI agent, with a full paper-trading sandbox to rehearse against before going live. The trade-off is that it is single-broker and code-first: you open an Alpaca account, bring your own API keys, and run and secure the setup yourself.

Does Walnut place trades automatically?

No. Walnut is a hosted assistant that is read-only by default. It lets Claude or ChatGPT read your real holdings across several brokers through one connection, and at the brokers where it can trade (E*Trade, moomoo, Public, Questrade, Stake Australia, tastytrade, Trading212, Wealthsimple, Webull Canada and Webull US) it proposes trades in the Walnut app and you approve each one, including recurring buys you scheduled. It is deliberately not an autonomous agent. Walnut is not an investment adviser.

What is the easiest way to try agentic-style trading on my own portfolio?

If your account is at a broker with a hosted connector, such as Public, Moomoo, Webull or Robinhood, that connector is the shortest path, and it covers that broker only. If your money is spread across brokers, Walnut is one hosted connection for all of them: you connect each broker securely, with your login staying at the broker, then use it from Claude or ChatGPT, read-only by default and with trades you approve. Self-hosted options like Alpaca and tastytrade offer more control at the cost of setup. Walnut is not an investment adviser.

Should an AI agent be allowed to trade without my approval?

For most people, no. Fully autonomous execution removes the human check that catches a misread prompt, a stale price, or an oversized order, and the AI can be confidently wrong. The safer pattern keeps the agent free to research and propose, while every order waits for your explicit confirmation. If you do allow it, use the limits brokers now offer, such as order caps, and start with paper trading where it exists.

Which apps can actually act on an account versus only analyze it?

Robinhood (both its MCP and Robinhood Agents), Public, Webull and Alpaca let an AI place orders on their own accounts. Interactive Brokers stops at a draft that you submit. For tastytrade, Moomoo and TradeStation, check each broker's documentation for which actions the connector exposes. ChatGPT's Finances feature reads linked US accounts but cannot trade. Walnut reads your holdings across brokers and places only the trades you approve, at the brokers that support it. Walnut is not an investment adviser.

Walnut is informational and is not an investment adviser. Broker apps, AI features, agent capabilities, and their terms change quickly; verify current capabilities on each provider's own documentation before connecting an account or enabling any trading feature. Nothing on this page is a recommendation to buy, sell, or hold any security or to use any particular product.

ETFs and stocks in this guide

Stocks: IBKR

Related articles